Superwoman or Busy Bee

I consider myself a superwoman.  Or in other words a very busy woman – mother of three boys, wife, day job, night-time psychic, chef, house cleaner, great friend and neighbor, etc… Oh and also a blogger.  Consequently, often I am exhausted.  I even had a minor breakdown two weeks ago after a month of family illnesses.  In the fast few days I have been trying to figure out if my tiredness is a product of  being very busy due, or because I am overweight (no time to exercise, I know – its not an excuse), or because of my age – 45 years old.

Yesterday I read a post “4 Things You Need to Eliminate From Your Life That Will Make You More Fulfilled”  in which one of the four things was Staying Busy.  The author points out that there is a difference between staying busy and being productive.  It got me thinking, What Am I – a busy bee or a productive superwoman?  Is my busy day due to trying to keep myself active in order to avoid dealing with an unconscious issue? Do I allow my life to run me or am I running my life with a purpose?  I don’t think time goes by too quickly. I am thankful that there are not anymore hours in the day.

A typical weekday in four daily chapters:
6.30 a.m. – Chapter 1 – Wake Up (and fight with the children to also wake up, dress, eat breakfast)

8:00 a.m. – Arrive at my part time day job (spent from fighting with family)replacementmom_custom-a369c062011d3ddf2ca4a08b626d172e54808694-s900-c85

1 p.m. –Chapter 2 – Pick up my first grader from school and prepare hot lunch.

2 p.m. –  Pick up youngest from preschool, lunch with nervous, hungry children (not a smooth task), homework, dishes, laundry, etc. If lucky, coffee before chapter 3.

4-7 p.m.  Chapter 3 – Lots of loud television / computer in one room, driving to the afternoon activities or therapies, supermarket, play dates, playground, etc…

7 – 9 p.m. Dinner, showers, bedtime story, putting the young ones to sleep.

9 – 11 p.m. Chapter 4 – Psychic Sessions with clients, marketing, blogging, last minute chores, folding laundry, arguing with the teenager to go to sleep, and then he remembers at 10 p.m that he needs this and that for school the next day.

11 – 12 p.m. Bed

That was exhausting to write.  I do however understand that I am busy productive and not just busy busy.  I am active in my children’s lives and want to enjoy being part of it (especially after losing a child to cancer).  I do not want to give up my love of working with people through my psychic readings and treatment because I am a mother of young children. I hope one day that it will be enough financially so that I can give up my day job.

Basically I do want it all and am hyper and crazy enough to do it. I am sure that my weight and age does have something to do with my tiredness.  I need to learn to listen to my body and take a break here and there, especially during Saturday, my day off.  Thank you Danny for making me look at something that has been bothering me for a while.  But that does not mean I will not continue to complain that I am too busy and tired.  I will just allow myself to accept it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Superwoman or Busy Bee

  1. Very wise and meaningful text. I enjoyed reading it a lot, although it’s 9 pm, I just put my toddler to sleep and the best thing I could do is simply go to sleep. I have only 1 child, but I think I understand you very well. It will be my pleasure to read more about you and your blog.

  2. Oh yes, this whole “frazzled” thing has got to go…. it’s SO last century! I’m working on cultivating a life that nourishes rather than depletes me, and that seems like a worthy pursuit for you, too. Especially as a psychic, I would imagine that attending to your personal energy would only strengthen and clarify your abilities. Hang in there, and keep working on working less!

    1. LOL, you are right.

      As I thought about what you said I came to the realization that it is actually a product of this century. People were not as overworked during the last century and children were not as center stage.

      On the other hand, I see friends from my first round of childbearing whose kids are grown and don’t need them anymore. At the beginning its a bit scary but then its more about you. So there is hope.

      Thank you for commenting.

  3. I loved your post. It is necessary to stop occasionally and make sure we are being productive instead of just keeping ourselves busy. I guess the key is to ensure that we are not contributing to our own stress. Like you said, possibly staying busy to avoid dealing with something. Lots of people do that. Thank you so much for the mention!
    Danny

Leave a Reply

